DIY · Home Decor · Uncategorized

Small Space DIY’s

I recently got an apartment (excuse me while I do my happy dance). The whole apartment hunt was so stressful that I was just excited to finally find one! However, now I have a whole new stress..

My apartment is a studio with 550 square feet. Yep, that’s my kitchen, bedroom, living room, closets, and bathroom all in one tiny little area.

Since I have such a small space to work with, I needed to find some ideas to make a studio apartment functional while also stylish. Here are some of the ideas I’ve found to make the most out of your small space.

When you have a small space, you need it to feel light and airy. That’s why I recommend getting a  raised couch like this one. It’s functional but it also allows for air movement and give the appearance of being smaller than it actually is.

Screen Shot 2016-03-24 at 6.15.38 PM.png

With a studio apartment, your bedroom also becomes your living room. I personally need some separation in order for me to feel comfortable having guest over. I don’t know what it is, but there’s just something weird to me about having people walk in and see where I sleep. In order to create a bit of separation it works really well to hang a sheer curtain. You don’t completely close off the space but you also have a defined area for each “room” you want.

Screen Shot 2016-03-24 at 4.02.15 PM.png

Another way to maximize space is to have an all glass table. It serves as a functional piece of furniture but since it’s clear it isn’t visually cluttered.

Screen Shot 2016-03-24 at 6.21.45 PM.png

Another way to make your room seem spacious is to use mirrors. I like the idea of having a mirrored side table or mirrored picture frames. They reflect light really well which makes your space seem more open and bigger than it actually is. I mean, who wouldn’t want that?

Screen Shot 2016-03-24 at 6.23.55 PM.png

Doing these small things really can make a small space look big and airy. They’re easy fixes that really do make a difference.

From my eye for the shy,

Callie

Leave a Reply

