DIY · Home Decor · Uncategorized

5 Things I’ve Learned from DIY

When I started this blog I had roughly four months until I moved to Chicago. Now, I am halfway there and I’m feeling mixed emotions. I’m excited because I’ll be experiencing something new. I’m nervous because I’ve never lived in a big city before. I’m wary because I don’t really know what to expect with my job or from my new home. I’m anxious because I wan’t to just get there already and see what is in store for me. And finally I am confident because I know if I’m true to myself I will be fine.

When thinking about these five mixed emotions, I realized they directly correlate to how I felt/feel when I started doing DIY or when I start a new DIY project. This might sound a bit odd, but let me explain.

Excited. 

Every time I think of a new project I instantly become excited. I think of all the possibilities I can do with a few simple tools and materials. This excitement allows me to embrace my creativity and allow myself to step outside the lines and be different. Because of these projects, I feel like my excitement for them have translated into my real life as well. Knowing that I am capable of stepping outside the lines during a project has made me realize that I will be doing exactly that in Chicago. Each day will be like a new project. I’ll be experiencing something new and will be excited to see what that day has in store for me.

Nervous. 

Before starting a project I’m always a bit nervous that it will fail and I will have wasted my time. I can definitely say I feel the same way about moving to Chicago. Who knows if I’ll like living in the windy city, or figuring out the train system, or even finding my place in the world. However, one thing I have learned through DIY is that even though you’re nervous that something won’t work out, it shouldn’t stop you from trying.

Wary. 

This kind of goes hand-in-hand with nervousness. The difference though is that occasionally I feel wary to try a new project. Whenever I start a DIY project, I really don’t know what I’m doing since I’m a newbie. This makes me be wary in the future because what if it turns out like my gold leafing experience last week? But the best part about being wary is that it forces you to take a look at your skills. Sure you don’t always know what you’re doing, but if you just try you might surprise yourself like I did with my headboard. I will take this lesson with me to Chicago because although I don’t know what to expect with my job, I know that even if I fail or succeed I will have still tried.

Anxious. 

Whenever I am thinking of a new DIY project to try I am always anxious. I’m anxious to get started but also anxious that when I post it, you guys won’t like it or will think it’s too difficult (something I never want to happen.) This is the same with Chicago. I’m so anxious to get there and to explore but also anxious that I won’t like it or will think everything about a city is just too hard to figure out.

Confident. 

When a project I do is complete, I am always so confident. I love looking at something that before was just materials and turning it into something that is functional and beautiful all at once. Knowing I am capable of setting my mind to something and completing it, makes me extremely confident in my abilities. This is perhaps the most important feeling I have. Looking toward the future I know from prior experiences that if I put my mind to something, I can achieve it and that gives me the utmost confidence to know I will be just fine.

I never expected to learn so much about myself in just a few short weeks. Let alone, learning all this through DIY. It might sound odd at first to attribute DIY to life experiences, but that’s exactly what I got.

From my eye for the shy,

Callie

Leave a Reply

