DIY · Home Decor · Uncategorized

Sound Like a Pro, Without Being One

Apparently, in the carpentry word there are names for things that I have no clue about. Who knew there were so many saws? So many types of tools? Well, if you read my post last week you read a little about all the different kinds of tools that go into making just one headboard. Today I’m going to give you my term of what tools should be called, and their factual name. That way next time when you ask for “the thing with the hard end on the stick”, you actually know to call it a hammer.

Screen Shot 2016-02-15 at 6.25.19 PM

This is a Reciprocating Saw. Also known as a Sawzall. This tool is basically a portable power saw with a reciprocating blade (hence the name).

If you’re in carpentry you know this. However, I am not. Every time my friends referred to this tool I thought they were saying “sawz-aah.” Finally I said it incorrectly enough that my friends felt the need to point out that I sounded like a complete amateur. In my defense, when said fast enough it does sound like the way I said it. Needless to say the rest of the weekend that we were building my headboard I was the running joke.

Screen Shot 2016-02-15 at 6.33.50 PM

This is a carpenters punch. The odd looking device is used to get nails out of a board. You simply place the narrow end on the top of the nail and drive it through the board using a hammer at the wider end.

I was not allowed to use this tool because it took a great deal of hand-eye coordination. I tried it a few times and ended up hammering my fingers instead of the punch. My friend Abbi, who helped build the headboard, had great hand-eye coordination. Therefore using the punch became Abbi’s job. This leads me to the name I called it…”Abbi’s little tool thing.”

Screen Shot 2016-02-15 at 6.40.36 PM

Welcome to the magical world of the mitre saw (known as the swivel saw by me). While it looks a little daunting at first, it really isn’t once you get some experience with it. This saw is great because it allows you to set angles that without it would be very difficult to cut. It also has a laser that shows you the exact line you are about to cut. It’s definitely very handy but should also be handled with care.

Screen Shot 2016-02-15 at 10.28.10 PM

This lovely contraption is called a square. A term that makes no sense to me since it’s literally a right angle..but hey, I didn’t make the rules. While I was making the frame for my headboard I relied heavily on this tool. It ensure that every angle you are making is straight. This sounds unimportant but trust me, it’s not. Because of this square, my headboard was level and able to stand upright without the fear of it toppling over.

Next time you are working on a DIY project and use any of these tools, you can impress all your friends by calling them the right name. And hey, even if you don’t call it the right name then no one will be mad at you. I’m not saying they won’t poke fun at you (personal experience) but they will still appreciate that you’re trying.

From my eye for the shy,

Callie

Leave a Reply

